SAXOPHONE COLOSSUS

by jamesendeacott

sonny rollins got me into jazz…not personally of course but he was the first dude i really fell for. In fact one of my favourite albums of all time is Saxophone Colossus…its breathtaking in its beauty…check it out one day…
anyway – some sad news today…the man is not well at all…lets wish him the best and a speedy recovery.
SonnyRollins1-Photo by Ruth David
A Message from Sonny:

“This past spring, I was dealing with some respiratory issues that necessitated my canceling several concerts. I have been under a doctor’s care, and we were hopeful that I would be able to return to performing in time for my scheduled concerts this month and next. However, I am still not in condition to perform, and regretfully I must cancel these shows.”

this clip is pretty special…sonny rollins and leonard cohen from some TV show in the 1970’s doing a version of Who By Fire…are you watching Jools..?

