ravensbourne station (slight return)

by jamesendeacott

It’s 19.30 on a monday in south east london yet this station makes me feel like I’m in the middle of the yorkshire dales….the damp spring evening is closing in and there’s not a soul in site. In about 35 minutes I’ll be in Farringdon – one of the oldest parts of London…I do love this city. Its nooks and crannies, its surprises and its charm. I’m off to see the wonderful Dead Flamingoes play tonight at a pub called the Slaughtered Lamb. Not a night for vegetarians I hear you shout. Dead Flamingoes are James Walbourne, who’s put out lovely country tinged records on Heavenly. He also plays with Edwyn Collins every now and again and is of course one fifth of London Mississippi who I mentioned a few weeks ago. James is joined by Kami Thompson – who I believe is Richard and Lindas daughter. They have recorded a beautiful 4 track EP for AED records with Edwyn and Seb on production duties. I’m very proud to be part of AED records…Grace and Susan do all the work of course – without them it would be nothing….check the AED website for more details…anyway the train keeps a rollin’….

